From Free Republic:

Sen. Jim Webb (D-Va.) said Tuesday that he did not give staffer Phillip Thompson the pistol whose possession got the aide arrested Monday when he tried to enter the Russell Senate office building. “I have never carried a gun in the Capitol complex and I did not give the weapon to Phillip Thompson, and that’s all that I think I’ll say,” Webb told reporters.

“I think this is one of those very unfortunate situations where, completely inadvertently, he took the weapon into the Senate yesterday,” Webb added. The senator noted that he was in New Orleans from Friday until Monday. He speculated that the incident happened because three of his cars were moved because of the trip.

“Everyone here knows that I am a strong supporter of the Second Amendment, that I have had a permit to carry a weapon in Virginia for a long time, and I believe that it’s important — it’s important for me, personally, and for a lot of people in the situation that I’m in, to be able to defend myself and my family.”

Captain’s Quarters has a little more information:

Webb put on quite a bizarre little show. He staunchly defended the Second Amendment, something that even some Republicans won’t do these days, and insisted that he needed to carry concealed weapons because of his stature. He noted that Presidents get Secret Service protection but not Senators or Congressmen, which is true, but not really terribly germane. Congress could create that kind of protection service for itself, or fund it through the Secret Service. Webb also refused to state whether he violates DC law, which requires registration which Webb apparently does not have for his weapons.

And while Webb waxed loquacious about his personal need for security, he never mentioned any effort on his part to allow other DC residents the right to make the same decision about their own safety, even though the GOP had offered an amendment to allow them to do just that last week.

If we parse what he said and what he didn’t say, it is obvious that he did not deny packing heat in D.C. Since his guns are not registered there, he has likely been breaking the law. He should thank his lucky stars he is not a Republican.

