In the old days help files were essential. Not any more. I use search engines 99% of the time. When I get an obscure and unexpected error message I google it. I get an answer far faster than I would if I struggled through the horrible help that Bill Gates delivered with .net.

Lot’s of times I find my answer on a forum. People have a problem, post a question, and experts who’ve solved the problem, post answers. I contribute to forums, though I tend to spend my time on Marathon forums. Want to know how to stop your nipples bleeding? I know the answer. Search engines scan the forums and the best answers get shared with the world.

But suppose the question is “How can I make TATP?” Easy. Type that into Google and you get all the information you need to create an extremely dangerous terrorist weapon. That’s what Richard Reid had in his shoes.

