Many years ago my father told me a tale about a colonial native chieftan who had been taken grouse shooting at one of the grand old homes of England. As the group is standing there at the ready, a grouse comes running out of cover in front of the group. The chieftan points his shot-gun at the grouse and tracks it as it runs. The host is horrified. “Come, come my good man” he says, “you can’t shoot a bird on the run”. “I know, I know”, says the chieftan, “I’m waiting for it to stop!”.

In the same vein, Iranian President Ahmadinejad wants Israel to stop fighting because it is making it harder to eliminate the Zionist regime. Haaretz quotes this AP report:

In a speech during an emergency meeting of Muslim leaders in Malaysia, Ahmadinejad also called for an immediate cease-fire to end the fighting between Israel and the Iranian-back group Hezbollah. “Although the main solution is for the elimination of the Zionist regime, at this stage an immediate cease-fire must be implemented,” Ahmadinejad said, according to state-run television in a report posted on its Web site.

I can’t think of a better reason for completing the destruction of Hezbollah than that statement by Hezbollah’s patron.

